Monday, March 21, 2011

3 Years and Counting

On Friday March 18th at 8am it made 3 years that I have been cancer free... 3 years and counting. I have an appointment with my surgeon on Tuesday and if that goes well, I will be able to stop my 6 month checkups and do them once a year now. I have spent a lot of time thinking of these past 3 years and I realized I never talked about the surgery, my thoughts at the time or sharing of myself.

I had (being a Cloutier and all) closed myself off pretty good after I heard the "you have breast cancer" words. It is not easy dealing with cancer in my family more so then most other families. Our success rate is not that great. I lost my dad to it, my only sister a few years before I was diagnosed. It was difficult having to tell my mom that I had been diagnosed as well.

As I lay on that OR table trying to remember to breathe while the anesthesiologist was unsuccessfully trying to start an IV, I promised the nurses that I had better wake up after the surgery otherwise my sister in law who is an OR nurse would come back and kick some serious butt.

As the drugs started to work and I could feel myself sliding under I thought of my sister...it would have been her birthday that day...it was so young to die at 37 and I silently told her I wish she was still here. I felt that she was watching me and that she would make sure I was alright to not worry.

The blackness kicked in and I went under. What seemed like just seconds I had closed my eyes I was hearing people telling me to wake up. I felt immense pain in my chest. I tried to speak but there was some tube in my throat which was bothering me a great deal. The nurses would tell me to settle down, that I was going to be fine but I needed to settle down. They said the airway tube was to help me breathe as my one lung had collapsed during the surgery. I made a sign that I wanted to write something down. They got me a clipboard and paper. I just wrote in big letters KEITH. They knew he was my husband but told me that I was in recovery and that he would not be able to come in. I was getting increasingly agitated, from some reason for not being able to move my legs, from the pain in my chest, from my not being able to breathe on my own. I wrote his name on the paper again and put several exclamation marks next to his name.

They told me again I was in recovery and I needed to calm down. I tried pointing at my legs..I guess they understood I was asking why I couldn't move my legs. By this time the nurses had gotten one of my surgeons to come in to talk to me. She explained to me about my lung, about the fact that the veins in my arms kept collapsing on them plugging the IV fluids and that they had to start them in my feet and when I kept thrashing around and had snagged the lines on the bedding a couple of times they finally had to strap my feet down to keep the lines in, she told me I had started hemorrhaging on the side that had the cancer in and that surgery took a couple of hours longer then it should have.

This did nothing to calm me down..nothing.... I was expecting to go in, spend a couple of days and go home. Again I pointed at the clipboard..and she just looked at my face then told the nurses to get Keith. He came in very worried expecting the worse. He just took my hand, kept brushing my hair off my face, and told me he loved me over and over again. I finally knew I was going to be ok if he was there to stay beside me. When he told me nothing would get him away from me I fell back asleep...that and a couple of very strong shots of narcotics.

By the time I came to again I had been transferred to a private room. I was still hooked up with my airway and the pain was still intense but Keith was still sitting there holding my hand. I went in and out for several more hours. It was early morning when I finally woke up for real. I had written a note to Keith a few hours earlier telling him to go home. I laid in the bed just thinking when I realized I was feeling very wet. I thought it was from perspiration but I was only wet underneath me so I rang the buzzer. The nurse came in and I pointed at my sheet. She turned the light on and saw I was laying in blood. She called the other nurse to call in the surgical resident and got some dressings. My dressing, which went completely around me, was soaked in blood. Not a good sign. The resident came in and noticed my right side was very swollen and assumed some of my stitches had given way.

They brought in an ultrasound machine and saw that I had developed a hematoma that was 6cm X 4cm. It had plugges up the draining tube so all the blood had to go somewhere so it just kept backing up till the area was so swollen it popped my stitches. He called in the surgeon who came back in. She has a wicked sense of humour and walks in after getting the scoop from the resident and says "You are just determined to go down in my history books right"...yup that is it exactly!

She had to go back in and clean the site up and redid the stitches. The anesthesiologist and she decided that my lung was re-inflated enough to take the tube out and just keep me on an oxygen mask. I woke up again in the recovery room but wasn't nearly as anxious this go around. I slept in and out most of that day and when I woke up I noticed Keith was there. We talked for awhile and he just sat with me when I dozed off and on. I remembered forcing him to go home. At one point in the middle of the night I called the nurse to tell her I neede3d to go to the washroom.She told me I had a catheter in there was no need and I told her she had better check it because I NEEDED to go to the washroom. She checked and sure enough that tube had blocked itself out. She said she would remove it and put another one in. Uhhh thanks but no..I did not need any more tubes in me I already had the oxygen mask, 2 draining tubes, an IV and a blood bag in my feet. She finally agreed. I had to sit at the edge of the bed for a few minutes to get my bearings and that was when I noticed a hard cover pink journal sitting there.

I figured the hospital gave it to all breast cancer patient and asked the nurse and she said it wasn't theirs. So when I came back I asked to sit on the chair for a bit so they could change my bedding and I went through the journal. I have been writing in journals for decades and here was this pink one with the pink ribbon emblem on it. Inside was a very long letter from Keith. It was so heart warming and touching that the nurses were crying when I was reading it out loud for them. He told me how much he loved me, that my breasts did not define who I was, that this was just another blip on our relationship radar.

4 pages of thoughts and words and pure love that came from his heart, mind and soul. Now you have to understand that Keith is not a writer, he is lucky if I can get him to sign his name to cards that I send out. I decided I was going to use this journal just for my journey, the good as well as the bad. All my cards, emails, and notes would go in here. That journal became so fat at the end of my first year it became my source of sunshine that first year when I had to have 6 surgeries in 10 months.

My family never gave up on me. My daughter, my mom and sisters in law came with me for my surgeon visits. my 4 year old granddaughter that I babysat would tell me when my drainage bags needed to be emptied and on days when I could not keep my head out of the puke bucket she was there with tissue and wiped my face cause she said she was my nurse. The women from church came day after day to clean my house and bring me meals. When I kept telling them I was fine and could take care of myself they ignored me and just came anyway. Not easy as a woman to accept help. For some stupid reason I felt it made me weak if I accepted help.

The people at my work (considering I had only been there 2 short weeks) never batted an eyelash as they covered my shifts. I was too stubborn to believe how badly I was. I refused to give into this disease. It was not going to take me down. I tried a support group once and never went back. I don't know if it was just this particular group or if all were like that but I have never been around so many negative people at one time. I could not see how being with so much negativity was going to help me in my recovery. I knew I had a huge support team that would bring me so much more positive reinforcement I left and never returned.

Every six months for the last 3 years I have gone for checkups and tests. This past Wednesday I had one lest nuclear scan and if all goes well, I will have graduated into a yearly maintenance and tuning checkup. I took this disease and turned it into a positive thing by helping others going through this process. I started volunteering with the Canadian Breast Cancer Foundation. I started fund raising...every dollar I brought in meant one more day that my mom, my daughter, my granddaughters, my sisters in law, my nieces would not have to be sitting in their doctors' offices and hear those words "You have cancer". This will be a fight that I will continue with my every breath.

People tell me all the time that I need to slow down, that I do too much... well in the words of Tim McGraw..."Live like you were dying". My life is too short to be spending it in bed, sitting around worrying about what might be, will the cancer return, what if I die...that's not me. I was at a Breast Health Series this past month and one of the speakers who was a Radiology Oncologist stated that people who say they are cancer free are not being honest with themselves. She went on to say that once you have had cancer you can never be free, you can be in remission but you will never be free from it.

I beg to differ. My grandchildren believe I am cancer free and that is good enough for me. If anyone wonders what it is that gets me through my day through all I have been through..what motivates me, what makes me beleive...see the pictures below and you will get your answer to that. Thanks for listening and letting me unwind.

Friday, March 04, 2011

Calling All Talents!!!

Hello Everyone!

I am putting out a call to all you wonderfully talented people out there!! I am hosting the city's very first community wide Yard Sale for the Cure on Saturday May 28th at Hawthorne Park in Surrey (10550 144th Street) to raise money and awareness for breast cancer! It is going to be a day filled with so much activity that you will want to bring a chair to hang out with us so you don't miss a single thing. In fact never mind bringing the chair...you can just buy one there hehehehe.

I am looking for volunteers to assist...

-volunteers for the actual day to help set up, sell items, take care of the cash, take down etc (I need about 30)
- volunteers to be a part of the Executive Planning Committee (no experience necessary just need a willingness to learn and execute the plans (I need 5-6)
-someone who knows how to call an auction, you don't need to be able to do it at lightening fast speed just be willing to auction off items that will have been donated from businesses for us
-are you in a local band or know someone who is looking for some free play time and have a captive audience to listen to them that would be willing to play for part of the day or throughout the day
-do you have a clown costume or know someone who would love to dress up to entertain the children
-volunteers to do some face painting for children

If this is something you want to get involved in or want more information or know someone else that I can contact please just message me through here or call me on my cell 604-644-9934 or email me at shaysom@gmail.com

Thanks!! This will be such an awesome day!! This event is actually going to be the template to market throughout Canada and I get to be the pioneer to start it all :) Must be all my experience with talking hehehee. Right now people have just been doing their own private yard sales to raise money as I have for the last 2 years but now the Canadian Breast Cancer Foundation wants to work at this so that it is ONE large one in one central point and we will be the founding city! Doesn't that just excite you?? And want to make you want to be a part of this amazing event?? You know you do.. just pick up that phone and call me for more information! There will be media coverage there interviewing us taking pictures of us and who knows you might be the celebrity of the day!!




Wednesday, March 02, 2011

Busy Busier Busiest

I had a "heated" discussion today of how people are getting detached from social circles, no one gets together with friends to go hang out, go to movies, have dinner etc...I was told that it is because people are busy? And then I got told that the reason we don't get invited is because I am always "too busy" or so people think. Really? That is the reason? Because people think I am too busy?

I don't get that. I have the same 24 hours in the same 365 days that I had 20, 30, 40 years ago..that has never changed. I think I do a whole heck of a lot less now then I ever did.

10 years ago I was a hotel Controller responsible for millions of dollars, accounts payable, accounts receivable, yearly budget, payroll...if it had a dollar sign on it I dealt with it.

20 years ago I moved here..what I left behind was a full time nursing at a hospital, in my "free" time I worked part time as a councilor at a sexual assault centre, part time at a walk in medical clinic, part time at a farmers market from May to October. I also was in the Stake AND Ward Primary Presidencies at the same time and raised 5 teenagers with a husband who was out of town for many many days

30 years ago I had 5 children under the age of 8 and I was going to school full time to be a nurse.

Yup I guess they are right. I am more busy then when I was younger...although maybe it's that new deodorant I have been using....

Monday, February 28, 2011

Family Ties and Hurts

As most of you know I had to take an unexpected trip home this past month to take care of my mom as she has gotten quite ill. I used up my airmiles and we only have maybe enough to make one more trip to Sask...which would be ok if we had only one more to take this year but we don't. Here is our agenda for the next 6 months
-Keith's dad 80th birthday celebration May long weekend in Saskatoon
-one of our nephew's wedding July 30th in Saskatoon
-our "goddaughter's" wedding Sept 18th in Saskatoon.

Not to mention keith's last natural aunt is on palliative care in AB right now and I spoke to his uncle very very early this morning and it just days or even hours at this point. She is on palliative care at the hospital and are only trying to keep her comfortable as possible.

Our oldest nephew's wife (on Keith's side) is also on palliative care with her cancer so we know her time left on earth is limited.

In an ideal world we would be able to fly back for all these planned AND unplanned events this year but with Keith not working since October, no matter what we choose to attend someone in our family will be chocked and hurt that we are not going to be at "theirs". I was told I needed to set priorities, that by doing that I can make the decision on what we are going to do. I probably will have to go back to mom's once we know the results of the angiogram, To be my priority is to our parents, At both being 80 and 81. I don't know how much time is left with either of them. With Keith's dad losing his only brother less then a year ago this will be very hard on him saying goodbye to his only sister now.

In an ideal world, we would have unlimited financial funds to pay a thousand dollars to fly back there 6 more times in the next 6 months but at only getting 70% of his wage from WBC and having to pay deductions on back amounts on top of that as we only just found out on the weekend we would have to pay this, and as we do not use our credit cards except for emergencies, we don't even collect airmiles fast enough to be able to use them.

No matter how we decide this, we will be hurting a few people and it could cause irreversible damage.

Thursday, February 03, 2011

Mommies

I can't sleep as usual and then remembered Keith telling me when I got home that my mom had called to chew his ear off for 3/4 hour. He said she was so very excited I was coming down and for such a long period of time. 2 whole weeks. I have not been away from Keith for that length of time since before we moved to BC over 20 years ago. But he continued to say she was worried about me coming and when he asked her why she said they had to close the road into town. Apparently there is so much snow there that the deer have come to town to get food from the bushes etc in people's yards. There have been so many deer that they closed the road and drivers kept hitting them.

I had to chuckle thinking of my mom wrestling with deer while standing at the side of the highway waiting for the bus to stop there with me. My mom is a creature of habit and routine. She hates change with a passion (hmmmm that sounds awfully familiar). I already know my routine once I get there. Up at 8, have porridge for breakfast..none of this instant package stuff but the kind you cook for half an hour. Then a walk outside in the ton of snow. Dinner at 12 sharp...notice I did not say lunch...nap after dinner and forget the fact that I am a grown woman with 15 1/2 grandchildren., while I am there I am there as her daughter and that means nap at 1. I always lay in bed thinking of great what am I going to do but in seconds I am usually asleep...another walk in the afternoon, then supper not dinner at 5pm... then just hang out and bed by 10. and no staying up late reading a book nope nope nope..bed time means bedtime.And usually I wake up thinking thinking oh my goodness I fell asleep and slept all night. I wake up because I can smell the coffee pot, the porridge cooking, toast in the toaster and the clink of the dishes...so up I go.

2 weeks of just talking, there is no cell service, no internet, no Facebook, no files, no emails, I am going to go insane. But 2 weeks of doing nothing but visiting with me mom taking her for her tests and doctors appointments but I have a feeling this visit will do ME more good then it will do her :) Moms... they always know best don't they? No matter how old one gets one always needs their Mommy

Thursday, January 20, 2011

Shoe Fairy



Dear Shoe Fairy

I know you haven't seen me for awhile and I thought I should explain it to you ...I should be brave and do it face to face but i know what would happen.. your soft velveey voice gets calling me from outside a mall saying Salllllllllllllllllllllllllyyyy where are you.....,,And you keep on saying it over and over in that hypnotic voice of yours until I walk trying on trazillion pairs of shoes.

Let me explain...awhile back, Keith and I sat down and talked for a very long time about what we could do to get some funds back into our banks ..it was a sad state of affairs when we woke up one day to find out that we were now middle aged.. and we needed to get funds into our retirement fund as well as padding up our savings accout
As our mission for 2011 is to NOT buy anything new but socks underwear and bare necessity groceries and that is it. Period. So I have stayed away because I have no restraint when it came to shoes...But I know you have been working extra hard at getting to me but although I have you up on a high pedestal, cause you know you rank right up there with tooth fairies, Easter Bunny and the Man himself Santa Clause....I have had to stay away to keep my resolve.

But I wanted to let you know that I think of you every single day..I miss you dear Shoe Fairy but I will be strong as resisting you as I can so farewell till now and I will see you January 2st 2012!!!!!!

Friday, January 14, 2011

Deletion

I have been deleting my in-box for 3 days now, deleting mail that I have no idea why I saved them in the first place, others the information was now obsolete, moved some from my in-box to their proper folders .... just mindless work while I watched tv late at night.. then all of a sudden I came across an email from my Aunt Inez who passed away from her cancer about 2 years ago. We talked on the phone so many times when I was first diagnosed before I told my mom. She was my surrogate mom as I bounced ideas off of her on how to tell my mom that her 2nd daughter had been diagnosed...we spent many hours talking both on the phone and through emails...she even called me early the morning I was leaving for my mom's to give me some more moral support.. telling me she loved me and that everything would be all right. ...we talked about her cancer and how she had made the decision to not do any more.... that she was tired of fighting... but she told me that I needed to fight this with every breath I had to not ever give up that I was made from a different cloth then the others. ..She told me she loved me one more time as I had to leave for the airport...that was the last time I spoke with her on the phone... and tonight as I re-read her words..the tears slid down my face as I remember her love and her no nonsense words...It was only after she passed away that I realized she was only 12 years older then I am...not old at all...much too young to have passed before her time... In the words she spoke about my only sister Adele that passed away from her cancer....she is in a better place without any pain and is watching your every move and will be there to protect you....Auntie Inez I know you are in a better place without any pain and I know you are watching your family as well....needless to say this is one email that won't be deleted

Sad News Good News

well good news/sad news...sad news I didn't get the position at the CBCF that I had gone for BUT the good news is after meeting with me this week they were so impressed with my organizational and managerial skills ( I did say it was a 90 minute interview right?) they wanted to offer me a completely different one!!!! I have the opportunity to work with this project and set the template so that it can be used Canada wide!! AND the event is in May NOT October which should make my executive committee feel a whole let better :) I am pumped!!

Grown Children

When you have children there is something you should know,a very confusing thing that they don't tell you. You see so much of yourself in them, you see your ironic take of the world, you see your smile, your walk, your sense of humour, and you think they're you. But they're not you and they shouldn't have all of your baggage, your fears, you insecurities and your life experiences because that's not fair. They should have their own. I am so proud and so impressed and so in awe of them. I just want them to go out there in the world and fly.. they can fly..

You can be a parent and you can be mom and dad..there is a difference but as parents we don't/can't always tell the difference. My mother in law told me when my children were teenagers and driving me crazy that to appreciate them because I would be more stressed when they moved out but at the time I couldn't see it. Now I do.. I worry a lot more now. Before I worried about whether my daughter would be asked on a date, I worried about a son passing a big test, I worried when they missed curfew, I worried when they had a fever. But I knew where they were at night, I knew they had a safe roof overhead, at home I knew they had enough to eat, they were safe. Now I don't know this.

At times I see them make the same mistakes we did and I want to shake them and say SNAP OUT OF IT! We did that, been there, not going back there again because the end result is not a good thing but I see them making the mistakes anyway. And you can't do a single thing about it. That is when the parent part is supposed to kick in. But I am not sure how to do that. As a parent you need to let your children fly and watch them from afar. But as a mom and dad, or let me rephrase it, as a mom I don't know how to let them go. That part was never in any instruction manual I got when I first had a child. Oh wait there was no manual. Maybe that is why I have the problems now.

Now I worry about whether or not they have enough money to look after themselves; I worry about whether or not they have enough food for their children; I worry if when I ask them if everything is ok and they say yes if they are just telling me that; I worry that they WON'T ask us for help and try and do it on their own.

Wednesday, January 12, 2011

Why I do what I do and why I love it

In each family there is one who is called to find the ancestors. They put flesh on their bones and make them live again to tell the family story, and to know that somehow they know and approve. Doing genealogy is not just gathering facts but breathing life into all whom have gone before.

We are the story tellers of the tribe. All tribes have one. We have been called by our genes. Those who have gone before cry out to us: “tell our story.” So we do. And in finding them we somehow find ourselves. How many graves have I stood before and felt at home? I have lost count. How many times have I told my ancestors, “you have a wonderful family; you would be proud of us.”? How many times have I walked up to a grave and felt somehow there was love there for me? I sense “the old ones” give birth or marry or die and I do not feel afraid – they become real because they were real.

Genealogy goes to who I am and why do I do what I do. It goes to seeing a cemetery about to be lost forever to weeds and indifference, and saying “I won’t let this happen.” The bones here are my bones and the flesh is my flesh. It goes to doing something about it. It goes to pride in what our ancestors accomplished – they succeeded and failed; they struggled; they survived. How often have I heard hammer ring on anvil and armor and tackle rattle in the dark – not once have I been afraid.

It goes to respect to what they were, who they were; their hardships; their losses; their never giving in or giving up, their will to go on and build a life for us. It goes to deep pride – they fought to make and keep us what we are – the best of us at least. It goes to a deep understanding that they were doing it all for us -- that we might be born and be who we are; that we might remember them. And so we do – with love and gratitude and pride – recording each fact of their existence because we are them and they are us.

So as a scribe, I tell the story of my family. It is up to the one called in each generation to answer the call. I had no choice. It was merely inevitable. And so I took my place in a long line of family storytellers. That is why I do family history, and that is what compelled me to do it. I know others will be called in turn to stop, reflect and restore flesh to bone; life to those at rest...until then..it is my turn and I gladly take my place with those who have gone before me.

Wednesday, January 05, 2011

Shopping vs Saving

This past year has been a year of ups and downs. We had been caught up in credit card debt when Keith lost his extended health benefits at work so had been using it for my treatments but finally stopped that. In the spring we had finally managed to pay off all our debt. Not a penny was owed. But it really emptied out our savings etc. Then Keith got hurt at work and has been off since the fall. Although he is getting Compensation it isn't the same amount as his wage so belt tightening came into effect. Then just before Christmas we got hit with a $2000.00 bill thanks to the RCMP and ICBC which put us in the hole.

So after much discussion between us and after reading a post from one of my sons of an article he had found somewhere we have decided to not buy a single new thing for one year other then groceries and gas for the car obviously. The only item of new in regards to clothing is underwear.

Which means no eating out.
No movie night out
No "let's go check this out"

The only exception to the rule will be our grandchildrens' birthdays.This will be in effect until the end of this year at Christmas.

This will by far the hardest thing we will have to do since we said goodbye to our children when they have moved away. But we took our TV away for an entire year when our children were younger and we all survived then I am sure we will survive again.

Our thinking is Keith is 57 years old, we no longer have anything in our savings for retirement, if we get hit with another emergency we will be in trouble. So it will be a year of gritting our teeth, of being the bad guy when one of us wants something and will be interesting to say the least.

Wish us luck :)I want to check out the Surrey area and see if anyone else is doing this so we can do a support group

Saturday, January 01, 2011

2010 in Review

1. What did you do in 2010 that you'd never done before?
I planned my mother's 80th birthday

2. Did you keep your new years' resolutions, and will you make more for this year?
I rarely make NY resolutions but this year I have made 2: let go of the little things that really do not matter in the grand scheme of things and continue on last year's resolution of being more patient as I obviously did not get it right yet

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?
yes one of our sons and daughters in law to Conall

4. Did anyone close to you die?
our 10 year old cat died a couple of days ago

5. What countries did you visit?
stayed close to home this year

6. What would you like to have in 2011 that you lacked in 2010?
a home business that makes money

7. What date from 2010 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?
Msy 21st. It was my mom's 80th birthday. She had never had a birthday party in her life and we were able to bring in some of her cousins from all over Canada some of which she had not seen since she was a little girl

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?
Reaching 2 1/2 years of being cancer free

9. What was your biggest failure?
putting so much burden on Keith

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?
nothing new that wasn't there before

11. What was the best thing you bought?
well we didn't actually buy it but we got a new car from one of our neighbours!! And just because I am so special :)

12. Whose behavior merited celebration?
my granddaughter Senthia who started grade ELEVEN!!!!

13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?
an RCMP officer who decided to insist that I was driving inebriated a couple of weeks back and made me take a breathalyzer test not once but twice!

14. Where did most of your money go?
what money?

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?
the birth of our new grandson!

16. What song will always remind you of 2010?
Today I'm Going To Change The World by Johnny Reid

17. Compared to this time last year, are you:
i. happier or sadder? sadder
ii. thinner or fatter? same
iii. richer or poorer? same

18. What do you wish you'd done more of?
gotten on my knees, listened, not insisted that my point of view was the only correct one

19. What do you wish you'd done less of?
judge

20. Did you fall in love in 2009?
Nope, I was already in love.

21. What was your favorite TV program?
Survivor, Amazing Race, CSI's

22. Do you hate anyone now that you didn't hate this time last year?
No Comment, hate is a bad word, and I would just as soon work on that one privately

23. What was the best book you read?
uhmmm my mind is blank right now but I have Diana Gabaldon's new book as well as Tom Clancy's Dead or Alive sitting on my book shelf calling me so loud it is giving me a headache.

24. What was your greatest musical discovery?
I could listen to music that wasn't country

25. What did you want and get?
finish the year cancer free

26. What did you want and not get?
to get off my medications

27. What was your favourite film of this year?
Extraordinary Measures

28. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?
we went camping as a family and I am 54

29. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?
if our extended family had come out to visit us

30. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2009?
same as always, comfy casual

31. What kept you sane?
Keith

32. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?
hmmm can't think of anyone

33. What political issue stirred you the most?
HST!!!

34. Who did you miss?
my children/grandchildren in Alberta

35. Who was the best new person you met?
Janet C.

36. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2010.
That I can delegate and still live

37. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year.

TODAY I'M GONNA TRY AND CHANGE THE WORLD
GONNA TAKE IT ONE DAY AT A TIME
I'VE MADE MY RESOLUTION
I'VE OPENED UP MY EYES
TODAY I'M GONNA TRY AND CHANGE THE WORLD

I'M GONNA SAY HELLO TO MY NEIGHBOR
GREET HIM WITH A SMILE
SHAKE THE HAND OF A STRANGER
SIT AND TALK FOR A WHILE
TELL SOMEONE I LOVE THEM
FROM THE BOTTOM OF MY HEART
TODAY I'M GONNA TRY AND CHANGE THE WORLD

(REPEAT CHORUS)

GONNA MAKE SURE MY CHILDREN
KNOW THERE'S A RIGHT AND WRONG
I'LL NEVER TURN MY BACK
ON THOSE OF US WHO NEED SOMEONE
I'M GONNA TRY TO SEE MYSELF
THROUGH ANOTHER'S EYES
TODAY I'M GONNA TRY AND CHANGE THE WORLD

(REPEAT CHORUS)

TODAY I'M GONNA TRY AND CHANGE THE WORLD
TODAY I'M GONNA TRY AND CHANGE THE WORLD
NOT FOR ME, BUT FOR THOSE I'LL LEAVE BEHIND
I'VE MADE MY RESOLUTION
CHANGE IT ONE DAY AT TIME
TODAY I'M GONNA TRY AND CHANGE THE WORLD

2011 Resolution

Last year I had decided I would be more patient with others.. that was it... man it has been a hard year but I hoped I did at least attain a small part of that. I have been thinking hard for the last month on what I wanted for this year that did not start with the letter P and finally I came across it without a shadow of a doubt. I am going to let go to the little things, I'm going to try and not be such a perfectionist (egads another P word)and I am going to try and change the world by changing me..stay tuned so you can keep track of how I am doing by the end of December. I should have asked one of my readers to keep track through my posts this year and grade me on how I did with keeping my patience???
thanks Johnny for the inspiration!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T2ACmJPhz3Q

Happy New Year Everyone!

Tuesday, December 28, 2010

Icky Poo Poo

Ever have one of those days where you were up and down like a yoyo? Where your day couldn't make its mind if it was going to be nice to you or not? The kind of day where at 7 at night you wonder if it is too early to go to bed? Well that was mine today.

It started last night.. we had planned this family temple trip with some of our family members and our very close friends from the island. So that was good

Then our daughter and son in law could not come for health reasons which was totally understandable but was still sad

We left this morning with our 3 oldest granddaughters - that was good

We get to the temple expecting a very quiet day being mid Christmas week but it is jumping with activity - good for the temple not so good for us as we are going to run behind as the group ahead of us were behind which in a way was still good as our friends had not gotten there yet which was bad

It finally is our family's turn and that is good I am excited to watch the girls

I keep having to run errands while there so ended up missing seeing the girls which was sad

We had made this really nice picnic lunch for our family to share after we were done but the girls had to leave with our son and daughter in law so we didn't get to feed them which was sad

Because our group got to start late we were late finishing and so never had a chance to have our lunch before we went to do a session together which was sad

But I got to go through with our best friends which was good

And we got to go through with one of their sons, his wife, one of their daughters and her husband which was very good.

But as the doors closed and Keith still had not come in I knew he would miss going through with us and that made me very sad. I had no idea where he was

The session before us was so full that they went way overtime which made our session late starting and ending which by the time we got done our friends had to hurry up and leave to get back to the ferry in time so we never had a chance to visit over our lunch which was sad

I found Keith and he said the evening shift were very short staffed and had asked if we could cover it. He said he had to talk to me first which was good that he thought to ask

I had not brought my proper shoes and had had such a bad night last night that I just did not feel up to staying till late tonight which was not good as I normally LOVE working there

Our friends left and I went up to the dressing room to change to come home when I came across the shift coordinator who was happy to see me and asked if I could possibly help them with the shift. I said no problem I figured I would get blessed which was a good thing

I told her to give me a minute I had to find Keith to let him know. I ran into her husband and asked him to pass the message onto Keith that we would be helping out. I go back upstairs but after about 30 mins the coordinator comes in and tells me it is ok they are good I can go..oh ok..so I was kind of sad but kind of happy as I was really tired and sore.

I get changed, get Keith, find out where he had been all day and that I had really wanted him to be with me in the celestial room to talk about this job offer and pray about it and that we had not been able to and that made him sad that he felt he had let me down which made me sadder

We come home and I made supper and as I am curled up on the couch I go back to thinking about the temple and how it was that we were needed to help out and 30 minutes later we no longer are so I asked Keith what the coordinator had talked to him about and Keith tells me that he had told the leader I was tired and my back was sore so knowing me like they did they decided to tell me they were ok as they knew I would have kept working.. which was good that they thought of me but it made me so sad that I let them down.

But by that time even if we had hurriedly changed and driven back it would have been 8 before we got there and would have been too late which made us both sad... miscommunication is not a good thing by any definition.

So here it is..8pm and Keith has already gone to bed and here I sit all by myself. Taking the words from my 2 year old granddaughter yesterday "Sally is sad, I need chocolate".

Sunday, December 26, 2010

Traditions Old and New

Boxing Day...What a weird name for a holiday..I did google it once and found out that in the "olden" days it meant that people would box up their leftovers and take them to the homeless and food kitchens. With the amount of leftovers in my fridge and freezer today I can certainly understand why one would want to do that.

Today has been a sad day..Keith and I have spent many hours since all our children and grandchildren went home from our celebration Christmas Eve night talking about problems and why things don't always turn out the way you want and mostly about stuff. After many hours I finally came to the conclusion that I am trying to hang on to traditions that are a huge part of me and my childhood. Traditions that have made me who I am today. What Keith finally got me to realize was that they were MY traditions and that I cannot expect my family to have the same ones or want to keep them.

At this time of year I get very homesick for my extended family, my mom, brothers and their families. I truly do feel like I live on another planet at times. We always open our presents at midnight.. have been since I was born...the little grandchildren were having a hard time waiting this year...by 9pm they were just so cute going around saying pleeeeeeeeeeeeeease pretty please over and over again. So we figured we would let them open their stockings which again was very different as Santa is who brings the stockings. It confused them as one of the little girls figured Santa would not come now.

But we opened them and it became chaotic. I want to see each child opening their stockings and gifts to I can take pictures but some family members did not like this. They kept telling the little ones to just rip through the papers and to just open them. I missed seeing one grandchild open up all his presents and his stocking. Not one single picture and that upset me. I kept telling everyone that it was fine to wait that no one ever collapsed by waiting a few minutes.

After everyone went home Keith I just looked at one another and kind of just sat here in our living room wondering what had just happened. Yesterday we stayed in jammies all day and just cleaned up the cyclone. One son had misplaced a receipt so all the bags of paper had to be emptied and each piece of paper had to be unfolded and checked. Never did find it even after all that searching. We threw away plates of food that were everywhere....A couple of times there was someone upset because one food item was all eaten and they felt they were "ripped off" even though there was soooo much food leftover no one would go away hungry.

Things will definitely have to change for next year... Keith feels our house is too small for our size of family but our house is bigger then anyone else. I think of my grandparents homes and they weren't bigger then ours and their families were much larger then ours..but....I finally agreed that change needs to happen. This coming from someone who HATES change, who firmly believes in traditions and things being the same ...

So what I think we finally have agreed on is to not do a big family Christmas dinner with everyone here. Each individual family can come over when they are free on Christmas Day to open their presents and this way I can see each one open their presents, no one will have to feel like they have to rush opening up their gifts and stockings etc..and there won't be any more food issues, no more having to clean up after all these people for 2 days afterward, .....

after all.... traditions aren't everything are they?

Tuesday, December 21, 2010

Mothers in Law and Sewing

But this particular memory is about Keith's mom. When we were first together my sewing machine was a very old treadle one, and in case some of you have no idea what that is, it is a machine that only goes as fast as your foot can make it. There is no power other then your own. You use your foot to push a pedal up and down. It is not electric, it had no reverse stitch, didn't do buttons, fancy stitching or anything. I sewed all our clothes, jeans, parkas, bedding, dress shirts and even suits for Keith and the boys. I didn't know any different as it was the only thing I had ever sewn on.

One mother's day, my MIL called me to say Sears had a sale and this machine was on for only $125.00! She may as well have said it was 125,000.00! I told her there was no way Keith was going to "allow" me to spend that kind of money. Now you have to put things into perspective, our mortgage payments were $87.00 a month so paying more then a month's mortgage on a sewing machine was not going to happen.

The next time we were over visiting, Keith's mom tells him about this machine and with all the sewing I did it would really pay for itself. He said there was no way. Now you have to appreciate his mom, she never backed down from anything, when she felt she was right, you knew about it, ...so she just kept giving him more and more information. That Mother's Day I opened up this present thinking it was something that the children had made me, but to my wondrous eyes there was this what to me was a very fancy sewing machine. Not only that but it came with a $100.00 gift certificate to the fabric store. I'm not quite sure what kind of conversation went on between Keith and his mom when I wasn't there but I was not about to look a gift horse in the mouth at that point!!

That was 30 years ago, and I still use the same machine. It has been in for repairs only once about 20 years ago. It runs like a dream and this month as I put the finishing touches on 5 sets of jammies, 2 dresses, 2 quilts, 2 shirts, 2 skirts and 1 pair of pants, my heart remembers my mother in law. Bless her heart, and bless her for raising a son who knew to listen to his mom.


Saturday, December 11, 2010

UNpolitically INcorrect

In a world that seems not only to be changing, but even to be dissolving, there are some tens of millions of us who want Christmas to be the same it used to be, with the same old greeting "Merry Christmas" and no other. We long for the abiding love among men of good will which the season brings believing in this ancient miracle of Christmas with its softening sweetening influence to tug at our heart strings once again.

We want to hold on to the old customs and traditions because they strengthen our family ties, bind us to our friends, make us one with all mankind for whom the Child was born and bring us back again to the God who gave His only begotten Son that "whosoever beleiveth in Him should not perish, but have everlasting life".

So I will not "spend" Christmas nor "observe" Christmas. I will "keep" Christmas - keep it as it is, in all the loveliness of its ancient traditions that has made me who I am...I see in me my mother, my grandmothers and their mothers before them as I make my tourtieres, my buche de Noel, my tire a neige, sewing the new pyjamas for the first night, put a lit candle in my living room window for those who will never be with us again in this life so they know I haven't forgotten them. I will keep telling my children and grandchildren that yes there really is a Santa Claus and that in this house there will always be cookies and milk laid out for him and carrots for his reindeer. I will continue to keep Christmas in this family, and when I hear a 6 year old granddaughter tell me (as in the other day) to not forget to get a present for Jesus' birthday when I am out shopping I know that I am doing a good thing in balancing the traditions in our lives.

So if you want to be politically correct you go right ahead...but as for me and my house???? We will continue to keep Christmas and to believe.

May you keep it in YOUR heart so that we may be kept in it's hope.

Thursday, December 09, 2010

Twas the Night Before...

Genealogist's Christmas Eve

'Twas the night before Christmas
When all through the house
Not a creature was stirring,
Not even my spouse.

The dining room table with clutter was spread
With pedigree charts and with letters which said...
"Too bad about the data for which you wrote;
Sank in a storm on an ill-fated boat."

Stacks of old copies of wills and such
Were proof that my work had become too much.
Our children were nestled all snug in their beds,
While visions of sugarplums danced in their heads.

And I at my table was ready to drop
From work on my album with photos to crop.
Christmas was here, and such was my lot
That presents and goodies and toys I'd forgot.

Had I not been busy with grandparents' wills,
I'd not have forgotten to shop for such thrills,
While others bought gifts to bring Christmas cheers,
I'd spent time researching those birth dates and years.

While I was thus musing about my sad plight,
A strange noise on the lawn gave me such a great fright.
Away to the window I flew in a flash,
Tore open the drapes and yanked up the sash.

When what with my wondering eyes should appear,
But an overstuffed sleigh and eight small reindeer.
Up to the house top the reindeer they flew,
With a sleigh full of toys and 'ole Santa Claus, too.

And then in a twinkle, I heard on the roof
The prancing and pawing of thirty-two hoofs.
As I drew in my head, and bumped it on the sash,
Down the cold chimney fell Santa--KER-RASH!

"Dear" Santa had come from the roof in a wreck,
And tracked soot on the carpet, (I could wring his short neck!)
Spotting my face, good 'ole Santa could see
I had no Christmas spirit you'd have to agree.

He spoke not a word, but went straight to his work
And filled all the stockings, (I felt like a jerk).
Here was Santa, who'd brought us such gladness and joy:
When I'd been too busy for even one toy.

He spied my research on the table all spread
"A genealogist!" He cried! (My face was all red!)
"Tonight I've met many like you," Santa grinned,
As he pulled from his sack a large book he had penned.

I gazed with amusement--the cover it read
Genealogy Lines for Which You Have Plead.
"I know what it's like as a genealogy bug."
He said as he gave me a great Santa hug.

"While the elves make the sleighful of toys I now carry,
I do some research in the North Pole Library!
A special treat I am thus able to bring,
To genealogy folk who can't find a thing."

"Now off you go to your bed for a rest,
I'll clean up the house from this genealogy mess."
As I climbed up the stairs full of gladness and glee,
I looked back at Santa who'd brought much to me.

While settling in bed, I heard Santa's clear whistle,
To his team, which then rose like the down of a thistle.
And I heard him exclaim as he flew out of sight,
"Family history is Fun! Merry Christmas! Goodnight!"

Wednesday, December 08, 2010

Three R's

I bet you thought I was talking about Reading 'Riting and 'Rithmetic huh?? Although those are probably the original three r's the ones I am talking about tonight is reduce reuse recycle. Anyone that knows me well knows I am big on environmental issues, I separate my garbage, I don't throw something away if I can change something into something else etc.

The reason why I am talking about this is if you read my last post you know we had an unexpected monetary expenditure with our car last week of a thousand dollars when the head gasket blew...(whatever that is)..and then the next day I got pulled over for this magical suspicion of a DUI and have since had the costs of 2 tows, ICBC inspection, mechanic's bill, a new windshield, new brakes, new plates etc..all 2 weeks before Christmas and it has depleted our Christmas fund..for this year and probably next's year. We are very adamant to not use our credit cards either so have been thinking of what to do.

I usually do sewing and other homemade gifts for extra gifts but still bought the bulk of gifts but this year our daughter and I are on a mission :) We are on the search for perfect gifts from second hand stores which I love to shop in. A lot of times we find items that still have new tags on but for whatever reason people no longer wanted/needed them. I mean when you think of antique furniture it's used and people pay big bucks for them so why would this different. I love buying clothes from there for myself. I started doing that when I was losing all my weight as I couldn't be bothered paying a lot of money for something I would only wear a couple of times..by the time I lost all my weight I had been hooked on searching for really good quality stuff. I collect a certain kind of crystal and have bought many pieces over the years at a fraction of the cost at yard sales or second hand sales.

So this Christmas that is what we are doing. Reduce Reuse and Recycling. And if anyone is thinking ewwwwwwwwwwwwwwww..well too bad...I hear coal is making a comeback for stocking stuffers :)

Saturday, December 04, 2010

Under the Influence

well well well..how do I tell this story..let me say it right up front that this really did happen to me yesterday I am not making this up even though it does really sound like something out of a Three Stooges movie.

Last night Keith and I went and worked a shift at the temple.. it was a wonderful night..got to meet up with some friends, worked with one of our best friends from the island..good evening all around. Because I finished half an hour before Keith and Ted, the guys were going to come back home with his car and I would leave with ours. While I was waiting for the car to warm up I called our daughter to say I had to stop at the grocery store on the way home and did they need anything. We had gotten a drop in the temperature since the afternoon as there was a thick sheet of hard frost on the car so I knew the roads would be slick.

Off I go down 200th till 64th avenue where I turned right. I was in the right hand lane and turned into the right hand lane. Now some yahoo was also traveling on 200th but was going northward where I had been going south. This car also turned onto 64th but turned left when I had turned right. In my world of idealism, when you turn left at an intersection you turn into the left hand lane. This driver obviously did not understand my idealism philosophy as his car never even touched the left hand lane but cut me right off as he flew in my lane. I hit the brakes to refrain from sitting in his back seat with my hood but because the road was icy I fishtailed for a bit but I got the car back under control. Thinking that driver was an accident looking for a place to happen and wishing he got 4 flat tires that night I kept on going.

I drove for about another 15 or so minutes when all of a sudden the driver in front of me started sliding around as he had been wanting to turn right at the intersection but had not slowed sufficiently for the road conditions. Because I never tailgate, I never ramrodded into him when I braked but once again I fishtailed for a short bit. Thinking that it was a good thing I am a cautious driver, I was very happy to be almost home. I get to King George and getting ready to turn onto it from the exit lane when out of the blue a police car turns its sirens and lights literally not one foot behind me!! That idiot scared the daylights out of me!! I thought it had to have been a full moon... I hurried onto the road and pulled over to let him drive past me thinking that with that much broohaha noise there had to be some emergency but he pulled in right behind me... huh??

So he comes to my window and asks me for my license and insurance. I gave him my license and while I am searching in the dark for our insurance papers in a compartment that has kids toys, baby wipes, juice boxes, and all sorts of paraphernalia, the officer asks me if I had been drinking...I very politely tell him no while I am still rummaging...He asks me again so I finally stop what I am doing and look at him telling him in no uncertain tones that I had not been drinking.

He then tells me I have to step out of the car..are you serious???but being the good girl I get out of the car finally getting my whits around me to ask him why I had been pulled over and why I had to get out of the car. He said I needed to take a breathalyzer test.... I ask why..he said because they had gotten 2 -911 calls about my driving erratically on the road..and that when he had turned his lights and sirens on I was driving erratically and had hit the curb....uhhhh..oh gee let me sneak up behind you then lay on the horn to see how well you keep your car in a straight line.. besides which I had barely touched the curb as I had already been turning ..I hit the curb way worse then that trying to park our SIL's van in their parking spot!

Once again he asks me if I had been drinking and all the while my brain is telling my inside voice to stay INSIDE my mouth and not ask him if he is old enough to even shave yet as he looks 12! But I told him now I was not drinking, I told him I do not drink and that in fact I had just left the LDS temple where I had been for the last 7 hours. He was not impressed.. whatever.. karma is wonderful tool..so I take the breathalyzer...nothing.. he looks at the screen and tells me I had to do it again...why...well apparently I did not do it properly because it never registered..uhhh goof it didn't register because I had not been drinking! But if it will satisfy him bring it on...but then I remember that I had been using Listerine breath strips and maybe that has alcohol in them and I was imagining myself explaining to my grandkids why I had to go to jail for having fresh breath...so I take a couple of really big breaths and then blew away..he kept saying keep going keep going keep going.... buddy step away from my face or you will be eating this thing...

It beeps and he looks at the screen..once again...0.00...duh..now can I go.. no...we will be impounding your car... WHAT??? Why? Well you obviously have not been drinking ( Really? I haven't been? You could have fooled me.. but thank you for telling me) so obviously your car must be mechanically unsound... no officer we JUST got the car out of the garage yesterday and paid a thousand dollars so pretty sure it is mechanically sound as it would not have been released if it wasn't. Nope can't convince him that it is safe and sound..

So now I have taken 2 breathalyzer tests, my car is about to be impounded, we only have one car so that would technically mean we are car-less, our garage is not open on the weekend, we just paid a lot of money unexpectedly for the car repair the day before and now my brain is starting to think up of how I cam going to explain this all to Keith. The tow truck arrives...can you say something stinks in this story?? I mean I have had to call tow trucks before and there is usually at least one hour wait.. how does this one just happen to show up within minutes of being called. The driver asks me where I want it towed to? I don't want it towed anywhere I want to get into it and drive it home. He apologizes and asks how I want to pay for the tow.. by this time my inside voice is really struggling to let loose but I bite down on my tongue and tell him I wasn't planning on paying for any tow as I did not call him in the first place. He asks if we have a regular mechanic and that he could tow it there and I wouldn't have to pay for it then. Seriously... do you think I was born yesterday? Of course I won't have to pay for it right then but I will see it on the mechanic's bill! I gave him the name of our garage and he goes back in his truck to see and of course why does it not surprise me when he returns to tell me that that garage is not on HIS list of approved ICBC places so he can't take it there... I don't get it.. what list... oh he explains to me that when a car gets impounded for being mechanically unsound it has to be taken to an ICBC place to get an inspection.. how much does it cost?..well it depends on what has to be done.. what do you mean it depends on what has to be done.. aren't they just doing an inspection.. well yes but if they find something wrong you HAVE to get it fixed before they release it.. seriously? and what if you don't want to get it fixed or can't afford it... well then you don't get the car back..

At that point I called my SIL... I am freezing as I have bare legs, wind is blowing and I have been outside for about 30 minutes at this point.. At one point I noticed the officer scrunched down by our back bumper so I go ask him what he is doing.. he calmly tells me taking off my plates... uhhh why? Well so you don't go get the car from where it is after I leave and drive off.. really??? ok at this point I have convinced myself that this is one of two things happening...one I really did get home, went to bed, fell asleep and dreaming this is happening or there is a hidden camera somewhere and I am being punked.

By now all of a sudden Keith appears out of the blue asking if I was ok and if I had been in an accident.. They had driven by and Keith comments to our friend on how that car looks like ours then as they drive by he realized it IS our car and I am sitting there!! Our SIL had just gotten there so I said I was all right. Keith asked me what happened then made me go warm up in our friends truck. He took care of the tow truck telling them to get it towed to our house. So now we have a car in our driveway but no license plates on it, a tow bill to our house, another tow bill on Monday to the service station, an ICBC inspection bill and who knows what repairs etc will have to be made to have our car released. All 3 weeks before Christmas.

Seriously this is all true facts. Not even someone with my imagination could come up with something this bizarre. The moral of this story: I have no idea... but am sure one of my fans could come up with one.. right now I am waiting for Keith to call the RCMP officer and have a chat... this should be good!